District Medal Draw 2019/20

Dumbarton were drawn to play Troon Portland in the 2019/20 District Medal.

The tie will be played at Braehead Curling Rink.  The date and time of the tie is still to be confirmed.

Having missed the competition last season, Dumbarton will be looking to build on the success of their last outing in the District Medal in 2017 and win consecutive District Medals for the first time in 10 years.  The last time they achieved this feat was in the seasons 2008/2009 when they defeated Hamilton and Thornhill 6-4; and in 2007/2008 when they defeated Glasgow Ladies 14-3.  The Dumbarton rink in both those matches comprised of Bill Marshall, Bill Coutts, Tom Woods and Tony Atkins. 

Troon Portland were formed in 1830 by the Fourth Earl of Portland on 17 November 1830 and have a long and rich history within the sport of curling, which has been further enriched in the past year.  In June 2018 Kirsty Letton was awarded an MBE in the Queens Honours List for services to curling.  More recently, Andrew Kerr was appointed as the Vice President of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club at it's AGM on 15 June 2019, and will take the office of President at next years AGM.

Troon currently play at Ayr Ice Arena.

The full District Medal draw for 2019/20 can be found here.