Waldie Griffiths 2019 - Match Report

On Sunday 3 February, Dunbartonshire Tenth Province hosted Stirlingshire Province in the Waldie Griffiths trophy at Braehead Curling Rink.

Along with Cawdor House, Helensburgh and Nondescripts; Dumbarton, playing in the Waldie Griffiths for first time since 2013, represented Dunbartonshire Tenth Province in this years competition.

The Dumbarton rink consisting of David Shanks (Skip), Andy Rankin (Third), David Armstrong (Second) and Jim MacDonald (Lead) were against a Sauchie & Bannockburn rinks consising of Joe Kincaid (Skip), Norman Ainslie (Third), Jim Marshall (Second) and Derrick Douglas (Lead), in what proved to be a tight and low scoring match. 

After scoring a single in the first end, dumbarton then took singles in the next 4 ends against the hammer before Sauchie and Bannockburn got on the scoreboard with a 2 in the 6th end.  In the final end Sauchie & Bannockburn had 5 yellow stones in the house countered by one red stone placed close enough to cut the shot count to 2 when David Shanks came to play his first stone, where he ultimately played a well-placed guard to try and prevent Sauchie from hitting one of their own stones onto the Dumbarton stone. 

With his last stone of the match, Joe Kincaid drove the guard back onto his own stone in an attempt to move the red stone reducing the shot count and was very unlucky as his the guard hit his own yellow stone at just the wrong angle to just miss the red stone and remove his other stone form scoring position, leaving Dumbarton sitting shot and prompting handshakes from the 2 skips.


The full scores from all 4 matches are as follows:

Dunbartonshire Tenth Province  27  V  23  Stirlingshire Province
Cawdor House 1  V 12  Borestone & Stirling
Dumbarton 6  V 2  Sauchie & Bannockburn
Helensburgh 11  V 7  Sauchie & Bannockburn
Nondescripts 9  V 2  Grangemouth

The results are calculated by dividing the total shots up by 4 to get each provinces final total.  This puts Dunbartonshire on +1 and Stirlingshire on -1.
The full draw and results submitted so far for this season competition can be found on the Scottish Curling website: